#### Council agreed:

(1) At Annual Council on 17 May 2016 (minute 12 refers) allocation of committee places to political groups in the light of the relative strength of the groups for the municipal year 2016/17 following the 5 May 2016 election and if the proposed revision to the number of scrutiny committees was agreed:

Labour	39 seats		59.1 %
Conservative	21 seats		31.82 %
Liberal Democrat	5 seats		7.57 %
Green	1 seat		1.51 %
	66 seats	Totals	100.00%

#### **Allocation of Committee Places**

(2) Applying the percentages in (1) above to the overall number of committee places (Members of the Cabinet are not included in those calculations) and based upon a proposed total of **118** committee places, the three political groups and the Green Party member would be entitled to a **total** of committees places as shown below:

Labour	69.74 rounded up to	70
Conservative	37.55 rounded down to	37
Liberal Democrat	8.93 rounded up to	9
Green	1.78 rounded up to	2

(3) Applying the arithmetical entitlement to **individual** committees would result in the following allocations:

Committee	Places	Lab	Con	L/Dem	Green
Standards &	9	5	3	1	
Constitutional					
etc.					
Audit and	9	5	3	1	
Risk					
Management					
Employment	8	5	2	1	
and					
Appointments					
Licensing Act	15	10	4	1	
2003					
Committee					
Licensing,	9	5	3	1	
Health &					
Safety etc.					

Pensions	10	6	3	0	1
Planning	13	7	4	1	1
Overview & Scrutiny: Business	15	9	5	1	
Overview & Scrutiny: Environment	15	9	5	1	
Overview & Scrutiny: People	15	9	5	1	
Total	118	70	37	9	2

- (4) For two committees an arithmetical adjustment has been made to enable the Green Member to have his entitlement of 2 committee places.
- (5) These adjustments are made with regard to the requirement for the Labour Group, as the majority group on the Council, to maintain an overall majority on each committee and for each group's entitlement to committee places to be in accordance with those figures set out in (2) above.

#### A. MEMBERSHIP

Council agreed that the appointments made by Council at its Annual Meeting on 17 May be transferred/realigned as follows:

MEMBER APPOINTMENTS  MADE TO:	TRANSFFERRED MEMBER APPOINTMENTS:
Coordinating Policy and Performance	N/o
Performance	N/a
Families & Wellbeing P&P	People Overview and Scrutiny
	Committee
Regeneration & Environment	Business Overview and
P&P	Scrutiny Committee
Transformation & Resources	Environment Overview and
P&P	Scrutiny Committee

#### B. OTHER CONSTITUTIONAL CHANGES

That to give effect to the proposed changes Council agreed that the following changes be made to the Constitution:

1. All references to the Co-ordinating Committee within the Constitution be removed and replaced with the names of the three proposed Overview and Scrutiny Committees.

#### 2. All references to:

Families & Wellbeing Policy and Performance Committee be changed to People Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Regeneration & Environment Policy and Performance Committee be changed to Business Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Transformation & Resources Policy and Performance Committee be changed to Environment Overview and Scrutiny Committee

## C. REVISED CALENDAR OF MEETINGS FOR OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEES

#### That Council agreed:

COMMITTEE	CANCELLED	RE-ARRANGED
Coordinating Policy and Performance	Tuesday, 21 June	Wednesday, 15 June
Families & Wellbeing P&P	Wednesday, 29 June	
Regeneration & Environment P&P	Tuesday, 5 July	
Transformation & Resources P&P	Tuesday, 12 July	

### **Proposed new Overview and Scrutiny Committees Meetings**

COMMITTEE	JULY	SEPTEMBER	NOVEMBER	JANUARY	MARCH
Business	Tuesday	Tuesday	Tuesday	Tuesday	Wednesday
	12	13	29	24	29
Environment	Monday	Wednesday	Wednesday	Tuesday	Tuesday
	18	21	30	31	28
People	Thursday	Thursday	Monday	Monday	Thursday
	14	8	28	16	23

### **OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEES**

# BUSINESS (15 Council Members)

MEMBERS	DEPUTIES
5 Conservative  Steve Williams (S) Chris Blakeley Gerry Ellis John Hale Tracey Pilgrim	Eddie Boult David Elderton Tom Anderson Kathy Hodson Geoffrey Watt Bruce Berry David Burgess-Joyce Lesley Rennie
9 Labour:  Mike Sullivan (Chair) Christine Spriggs (Vice-Chair) Ron Abbey Anita Leech Julie McManus Denise Realey Jean Stapleton Warren Ward Jerry Williams	Phill Brightmore Tony Jones Christina Muspratt Tony Norbury Paul Stuart Tom Usher Joe Walsh Irene Williams
1 Liberal Democrat:  Dave Mitchell (S)	Alan Brighouse Chris Carubia Phil Gilchrist Stuart Kelly

## **ENVIRONMENT** (15 Council Members)

MEMBERS	DEPUTIES
5 Conservative:  Adam Sykes (S) Tom Anderson Bruce Berry Tracey Pilgrim Les Rowlands	Gerry Ellis David Burgess-Joyce Geoffrey Watt Kathy Hodson Wendy Clements Cherry Povall Andrew Hodson Steve Williams
9 Labour:  Phill Brightmore (Chair) Steve Foulkes (Vice-Chair) Tony Jones Julie McManus Christina Muspratt Louise Reecejones Tom Usher Joe Walsh Irene Williams	Paul Doughty Anita Leech Treena Johnson Brian Kenny Denise Realey Denise Roberts Christine Spriggs Mike Sullivan
1 Liberal Democrat: Chris Carubia (S)	Alan Brighouse Phil Gilchrist Stuart Kelly Dave Mitchell

PEOPLE (15 Council Members; 4 co-opted members)

MEMBERS	DEPUTIES
Wendy Clements (S) Bruce Berry David Burgess-Joyce Paul Hayes Cherry Povall	Tom Anderson Adam Sykes Tracey Pilgrim Steve Williams Geoffrey Watt Les Rowlands John Hale Lesley Rennie
9 Labour:	
Moira McLaughlin (Chair) Angela Davies (Vice-Chair) Treena Johnson Chris Meaden Tony Norbury Denise Roberts Walter Smith Tom Usher Warren Ward	Phill Brightmore Paul Doughty Anita Leech Denise Realey Christine Spriggs Jean Stapleton Joe Walsh Irene Williams
1 Liberal Democrat:  Alan Brighouse (S)	Chris Carubia Phil Gilchrist Stuart Kelly Dave Mitchell
Co-opted members: 2 Diocesan representatives (with voting rights): Roman Catholic – Mr Damian Cunningham Church of England – Mrs Gill Peters  2 Parent Governor representatives (with voting rights): Mr Mark Harrison (until 28 October 2019) Vacancy (until 8 February 2017)	